Paranagua is situated south of Santos on a lagoon close to the open sea. It is approached via the Bay of Paranagua and dotted with picturesque islands. The fort of Nossa Senhora dos Prazeres was built in 1767 on a nearby island, an hour's boat trip away. The former Colegio dos Jesuitas, a fine baroque building, has been converted into a museum of archaeology and popular art. Other attractions are a 17th-century fountain, the church of Sao Benedito and the shrine of Nossa Senhora do Rocio, just outside town. There are restaurants and craft shops near the waterfront. The part of town between the waterfront, railway station and new bus station has been declared a historic area.
Currency: Real (R$)